This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

Winners clean up

05 October 2011

Individuals and companies working within the cleaning industry and those providing support services were honoured at the British Institute of Cleaning Science Annual Awards.

New Chairman Mike Fletcher

The 50th anniversary celebration took place at the Marriott Forest of Arden on the evening of 22 September 2011, an evening that also saw the new Chair of the Institute announced as Mike Fletcher of Johnson Controls. The awards recognise excellence in accredited training and assessment in a number of sectors. Categories and award winners are as follows:

The BICSc Award for Excellence in Training and Assessment within a Prison
The Institute works with the prison industry to deliver BICSc assessment schemes and training courses and this award is in recognition of training delivery in that sector.
The winner was HMP Bullingdon, with runner up, HMP Swansea.

The BICSc Award for Excellence in Training and Assessment within an Accredited Training Organisation (in-house delivery)
This award is for training developments within an accredited training organisation, which is approved to deliver BICSc assessment schemes and training coursesto directly employed staff.The winner was Western Health and Social Care Trust, with the runner up, Gateshead Council.

The BICSc Award for Excellence in Training and Assessment within an Accredited Training Provider
This is awarded for training developments within an accredited training organisation.
The winner was Premier Products, with the runner up, Cleanwise Training & Management.

The BICSc Award for Outstanding Student of the Year
Now in its third year, the Student Achievement of the Year Award reflects the achievement of an individual and their award of a BICSc qualification. Students are nominated by an employer, training provider or fellow student, with the main focus being on how the student has been able to achieve an award against adversity or has gone the extra mile to complete and receive the qualification within the workplace.
The winner was Mandy Hutchinson, recognised by her employer Firm Security Services.

The Doreen Heyes Award for Accredited TrainingProvision within Hospital Trusts
This award is based upon the provision of accredited BICSc training for those working in healthcare, such as hospitals, clinics and surgeries, to provide an industry standard qualification.Doreen Heyes was a past president and Chairman of BICSc during 1973/74.
The winner was Western Health and Social Care Trust.

The Arthur Ayres Regional Award
This is presented to the BICSc region with the largest growth in membership during the year. The British Institute of Cleaning Science consists of nine regions – London and Home Counties; North East; North West; Midlands; Wales; Scotland, South and South West, East Anglia and Northern Ireland.
The winner was BICSc Northern Ireland.

BICSc International Award for Outstanding Performance in Promotion of the Institute
The award is presented to an individual / organisation that have promoted BICSc training and standards outside the United Kingdom and achieved recognition of this within the cleaning industry on the international stage.
The winner was Rosetta Thornhill - The Institute of Tourism Studies, Malta

Eric Hill Medal
This is a key annual award which is awarded for past service to the Institute and is primarily for someone who has made a great contribution to training.
The winner was Gary Keenan of Belbclean.

The Sholom Gordon Award
This is the Institute’s premier award which is presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding service to the Institute and the cleaning industry. The award was first presented in 1972 by Sidney Gordon and is a solid silver replica of a Columbus Dixon D1 floor machine.
The winner was Lynn Webster, BICSc Council and outgoing BICSc Chair

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page


View more articles
Article image

Revolutionary new sprayer instantly turns salty water into powerful disinfectant

A unique handheld sprayer has been launched which turns mildly salty tap water into a powerful disinfectant which kills 99.9% of germs, bacteria and viruse...
Article image

Why the Law Says You Need a Nappy Bin Disposal Service

At home, parents are used to disposing of their babies’ used nappies the same way they do any other domestic waste - bagging it up and sticking it in the r...
Article image

Chris Jarvis appointed as MD for JR&Co

Julius Rutherfoord & Co (JR&Co) are delighted to announce the appointment of Chris Jarvis to the role of Managing Director....
Article image

Center Parcs goes cashless with Systopia

Systopia, which deals with cashless payment systems, has secured a contract with UK Short Break Operator Center Parcs to provide cashless payment systems i...
Article image

Meeting the needs of the post-pandemic working environment

Changes driven by the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic is requiring software developers to update their offerings to meet the demands in the changing workpl...
Article image

MRI’s acquisition of FSI paves way for greater FM efficiencies and improved service delivery

PFM speaks to Dermot Briody about the recent acquisition of FSI by MRI Software to determine how this will see bot...