This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

Certified membership launched by BIFM

15 October 2009

BIFM has announced a streamlined membership structure that recognizes academic achievement and formally recognises the BIFM's professionally qualified members. The changes start in January 2010.

The BIFM has overhauled its membership structure, introducing a new grade of Certified Member, denoted by the post-nominals CBIFM that replaces the BIFM (Qual). These changes are the culmination of a two year development programme which has resulted in a new membership structure aligned to the new qualifications. 
The new grade structure and the launch of a complete new suite of FM qualifications in January 2010 are major components of BIFM's mission to advance the profession in response to calls for clarity and transparency from the BIFM's membership, employers and tuition providers. The changes map entry requirements alongside academic achievement and  recognise formally the Institute’s professionally qualified members.
The new qualifications at levels 4, 5 and 6 have been approved by Asset Skills, the sector skills council for FM, and are due to be accredited onto the Qualifications and Credit Framework later this year. BIFM is recognised as an Awarding Organisation by Ofqual. Members who previously held the BIFM(Qual) grade have automatically been transferred to the new Certified grade and can use the post nominals CBIFM. 
From January 2010, BIFM will, therefore, have five grades of membership: Associate, Member, Certified, Fellow and Honorary Fellow. Those who hold the current Member grade will retain this but the Institute hopes that many will aspire to the new Certified grade. The new Certified grade can be gained only through qualification, in one of four ways:
 Achievement of the current BIFM Part II examination
 Award of the new BIFM Level 6 Diploma in Facilities Management
 Completion of a BIFM accredited higher education course at level 6 and above
 Award of an exempting qualification*
All applicants for CBIFM will also need to demonstrate three years experience in facilities management, including two at middle management level. They will also need to provide additional information, including a Personal Statement, current job description and reflective CPD record.
From January 2010 you can join at Member grade through the non-academic route, although you will be required to demonstrate considerably more experience than is needed for the academic routes to membership.  Alternatively, if you do not yet have the requisite number of years experience required for Member grade, you can apply for Associate grade.
A summary table of the entry requirements for all grades is on the BIFM website - see . Detailed entry requirements will be available later this year.
Entry to Member grade is available to both academic and non-academic applicants. For the academic route, achievement of either the new BIFM Level 4 or 5 Diploma in Facilities Management will fulfil the qualification entry requirement. For the non-academic route, the Institute has retained an experiential option which requires applicants to have a greater number of years experience than is required of academic entrants. These applicants will also need to demonstrate their experience across the BIFM's revised competences.
A set of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) is at 

Contact Details and Archive...

Print this page | E-mail this page


View more articles
Article image

Why the Law Says You Need a Nappy Bin Disposal Service

At home, parents are used to disposing of their babies’ used nappies the same way they do any other domestic waste - bagging it up and sticking it in the r...
Article image

Center Parcs goes cashless with Systopia

Systopia, which deals with cashless payment systems, has secured a contract with UK Short Break Operator Center Parcs to provide cashless payment systems i...
Article image

Emerging trends within the FM employment market

Recruitment specialist and PFM Awards Young Leader of the Year sponsor Boden Group shares its overview of the FM employment market as the industry returns ...

Measuring FM Performance

Counting costs rather than measuring performance and demonstrating value to business is one of the reasons why FM has failed to achieve a strategic role in...

SFG20 updated and online

A new, updated and interactive version of SFG20 - Standard Maintenance Specification for Building Services - has been launched as a web based service which...
Article image

Will FM cope with hybrid working?

With all eyes set on June 21st, and rising questions around whether the final phase of restrictions will be lifted, business owners are beginning to think ...