This website uses cookies primarily for visitor analytics. Certain pages will ask you to fill in contact details to receive additional information. On these pages you have the option of having the site log your details for future visits. Indicating you want the site to remember your details will place a cookie on your device. To view our full cookie policy, please click here. You can also view it at any time by going to our Contact Us page.

Former editors celebrate PFM Awards’ 25th anniversary

18 October 2018

Two former editors of PFM Magazine, both of whom were involved in the launch and subsequent development of the PFM Awards, have contributed comments to celebrate the event’s 25th anniversary this year.

Richard Byatt served as PFM editor from 1991 to 1999 and remembers the very first awards:

“When we launched the PFM Awards back in 1993 we had no idea that it would grow into the successful fixture in the FM calendar that it has.

"There were awards for property development, architecture and interior design – we simply wanted to recognise the good work being done by facilities managers that so often goes unrecognised.

“In the beginning there was just one category and the awards ceremony was simple. Over the years it expanded, the dinners got more lavish and the presentations slicker,” he continues.

“I have particularly good memories of working with presenters Adrienne Lawler and Garry Richardson over a few years – even my jokes got more laughs than his!

“I’m glad to see the Awards still going strong 25 years on, even if it reminds me that I turned 60 this year. I wish all the finalists good luck!” says Mr Byatt.

Jane Fenwick was assistant editor at the time of the first PFM Awards, taking over as editor from Mr Byatt until her retirement from the role in 2011, after which she continued to serve as a consultant editor and judge of the awards until 2016.

She says: “Twenty-five years ago we could not have dreamt of how the PFM Awards would develop and grow with what was then a relatively new industry sector.

“Categories increased and changed as the skills that FM specialists bring to their clients were recognised, but it is partnership working that has been the common thread over the 25 years,” Ms Fenwick continues.

“Visiting the finalists’ sites across the country with the judges to see these partnerships working in practice was always an education and a pleasure.

“Now the PFM Awards presentation dinner is the ‘hot ticket’ of the facilities management year. I know how hard all the finalists have worked to be here this evening.

"This is your evening. Enjoy it and many more to follow!” says Ms Fenwick.

Print this page | E-mail this page


Article image Winners of the PFM Awards 2018

Last night saw the the 25th anniversary of the PFM Partnership Awards, resulting in enthusiastic response throughout the evening and on a variety of social media platforms.Full Story...

Article image Finalists announced for the PFM Partnership Awards 2018

Official confirmation of this year’s list of finalists for the Partnership categories within the PFM Awards 2018 was announced on Friday on Story...

Six experts reveal how to build a career in international FM

Why the Law Says You Need a Nappy Bin Disposal Service

Long-term, sustainable, FM service delivery